Fastball Teams

Estevan, Saskatchewan, Canada

Estevan-Bienfait Coalers, then Estevan Coalers, then Estevan Maple Leafs, Senior Baseball Team

  • Weyburn Beavers
  • Bienfait Coalers
  • Assiniboia Aces
  • Moose Jaw Lakers
  • Regina Cardinals
  • Regina Red Sox
  • Notre Dame Hounds, Wilcox
  • Regina Caps
  • Moose Jaw Canucks
  • Indian Head
  • Sceptre
  • Swift Current Indians
  • Fort Qu'Appelle
  • Balcarres Braves
  • Saskatoon Bavarians
  • Melville

Elmer William "Lefty" White
b- July 27, 1903 in Millersburg, Michigan, USA
d- 1996 in Nelson BC
Lefty played baseball in SE Saskatchewan, and was widely known south of Regina to the border, as a Great Left Handed Pitcher.
Lefty was entered into the Saskatchewan Baseball Hall of Fame in 1990 Lefty Married Gladys May Hare, Sept 6, 1926, at Osage, SK.
His wife played ladies baseball in Osage.

  • Ned Rooney- Manager
  • Mel Torgenrud- Pitcher (played for Weyburn before this)
  • Buford Conley- 2B
  • Charlie Nichols- CF
  • Wilbur Greene- 1B
  • Koney Williams- LF
  • Junior Williams- Pitcher
  • Chappie Gray
  • Leroy Pettus- RF
  • Terrell- SS
  • Landrum- 3B
  • Benson CF
  • Allan Bryant- Lefty Pitcher
  • Eric Quist- President of the Estevan Maple Leafs

Maple Leafs members of the Western Baseball League
with Swift Current Indians
Moose Jaw Canucks
Indian Head Rockets
Maple Leafs played at Nicholson Field
Henry McHenry, right hand pitcher, was an all time Negro American League great.
Freddie Shephard, was another Negro American League player, that played for the Estevan Maple Leafs in 1951.

They were in a Western Canada League game against Saskatoon Gems
Playing Manager- Harry Munroe
Mel Torgenrud- starting Pitcher
Pete McLeod- relief Pitcher
Bill Shea- 2B
Andy Lillie- SS
Charlie Selph- 3B
Lou Pesce- 1B
Wayne Stephenson

League teams, 1952-
North Battleford
Moose Jaw
and Estevan

The team was called Bienfait-Estevan Coalers
Moose Jaw Lakers won championship in 1954

Apr 1955 name changed from Bienfait-Estevan Coalers, Team was now called Estevan Coalers
Frank Mather reelected President
Vic Walker Sec-treasurer
Nasie Schell Sr. First Vice President
Allan O'Handley- 2nd vice- President
Exec committee in charge of Equipment and Transportation:
Roy Sandie
Garfield McKechney
Rollie Jalbert
Jim Smith
Nasie Schell Jr

Neil Courtoreillel P, Stan Fleck C, Jack Harbourne- P/OF,
Bob Jackson- C, Roland Jalbert- C, Ralph Johnston “Preacher” P,
Len Kalichuk, Erwin Kreuger- C, Gary McKechney- P/1B,
Ron McKechney- P/C, Joe Moroz, Paul Myers- LHP (also Regina Braves),
Bob Petterson, George Roy- OF/P, Harold Schnell- OF/C,
Nasie Schnell- 2B/OF, Merrill Tennant- P, Orval Verpe- P,
Dale Wetsch- SS, Wright C, Bill Zielinski- P

  • Assiniboia Aces
  • Avonlea Arrows
  • Moose Jaw Lakers
  • Notre Dame Hounds
  • Regina Red Sox
  • Regina Royal Caps
  • Weyburn Beavers
  • and Estevan Coalers

Last Sunday of Apr 1956 name changed to Estevan Maple Leafs
Allan O'Handley elected President
Gordon Schnell, Sec-Treasurer
Public School children were admitted free to the games.

Irwin Krueger was catcher,
Pitcher Gary McKechney,
Ken Allen, Wayne North, Nasie Schnell
1956 they played Regina Red Sox for the championship game.

Southey Red Sox

Maple Leaf Players, Exec etc

  • Gordie McDonald
  • Wally Becker
  • Ron McKechney
  • Gary McKechney
  • Erwin Kreuger
  • Dale Wetsch
  • Nasie Schnell
  • Doug Martin
  • Bob Davis
  • Wayne North
  • Pete Maloney
  • Harold Schnell

Glenn Schnell (batboy),
Nasie Schnell Sr. (Team president)
Homer Swinehart (Business mgr.)
Ken Hearson (Sec.-treas.),
Hank Dornstauder (Playing-manager),

Merv Sanderson was Estevan's Pitcher
Dale Wetsch
Erwin Krueger

Merv Sanderson- Pitcher
Jack Harbourne- relief Pitcher
Nasie Schnell
Ernie Dyda- Pitcher
Gary McKechney- Relief and starting Pitcher
Harold Schnell
Larry McWilliams
Lyle Thompson
Fred Kratchy
Bob K
Moose Jaw Mallards one of the teams they played

Southern Baseball League
played Moose Jaw Steelers
other teams Balcarres Braves
Marquis Wheat Kings
Rowletta Lakers
Weyburn Beavers
Notre Dame Hounds
Regina Red Sox

Southern Baseball League
Estevan Maple Leafs
Swift Current Indians
Regina Red Sox
Fort Qu'Appelle Sioux Indians
Moose Jaw Steelers

Lyle Thompson- SS
Harold Schnell
Gordie McDonald- Pitcher
Ron McKechney
Al Swinehart- Pitcher
Jack Harbourne
Dan Klippenstein

Vic Wall
Dennis O'Handley- Pitcher
Bobby Dickson- Relief Pitcher
Ron McKechney


  • Last modified: 2020/12/17 14:57
  • by dlgent